Jamieleigh's Parrot Help

Stop! Are You Drying Your Bird Off With a Towel and Blow Dryer?!

Posted on: August 5, 2009

Photo by Jamieleigh
Location: Musha Cay, Bahamas
During a shower: Blue and gold macaw “Jersey”

Lately I’ve received a lot of emails and questions on the topic of bathing your bird and how to go about it without forcing, yet safely.

I’ve found a lot of popular articles (like on ehow) that advice people to use a towel to dry their bird, and a blow drier! The purpose of this post is to say…

NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER… use a BLOW DRYER on your bird in an attempt to completely dry him after a bath. You can easily make your bird over-heat and where in the wild do they have those to do that for them?

The “drying off” part of bathing for a bird is the best part for a bird owner! Most birds are super calm after a bath and want to focus on preening, shaking all the dander off and making themselves look darn good as their feathers dry. They do lots of shaking of tail feathers and head bobbing making sure every feather is fitting in just right. I always bring my bird to my office with me after a bath because I know he won’t be destructive and just want to eat stuff, instead he is occupied until dry.

You also don’t need a towel to dry your bird off. Let him do it himself! He’s a bird, not a human! He does not need our man-made accessories.

Just make sure that directly after bathing your bird isn’t in a super cold temperature. I’ve found most of my birds only prefer to bathe when it’s a hot day out because it’s faster to dry and the water helps cool them down a bit. None of my birds have ever wanted to shower when I offer it and it’s cooler in temperature. It’s no fun to be wet AND cold.

Bottom line: Keep the dryers and towels to yourself. And don’t always listen to ehow because it’s popular for its articles. And always remember “mimic nature” try to mimic nature as much as possible when it comes to your pet bird.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 646 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Recent Tweets

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

